The Seven Chakra Centers

There are seven major chakra centers in the human body, as well as many minor ones. Note that each chakra center has a related endocrine gland that secretes hormones. The better your energy centers and your glands work together, the greater the opportunity is for your body, mind, and soul to be in harmony with each other. The seven chakra centers are the following:

  • The base, or root, chakra (Muladara). The lowest of the seven major centers, this chakra is located at the base of the spine and is the simplest of the seven. It relates to your physical strength and animalistic nature, as well as the senses of taste and smell. It is in the base chakra that the kundalini energy waits in coiled readiness to respond to your basic needs. (According to the Yogis, kundalini energy is the psychospiritual energy that is a powerful source of many psychic experiences.) This chakra controls the gonads.

  • The sacral, or belly, chakra (Svadishana). Located just below the navel, near the genitals, the sacral chakra controls sexual energy and reproduction and may affect your health when out of balance. It influences the release of adrenaline in your body and can keep it on a high state of alert when influenced by stress. This chakra also controls what is known as the cells of Leydig, testicular or ovarian cells that secrete testosterone.

  • The solar plexus chakra (Manipura). Located below the breastbone and above the navel, the solar plexus chakra is the center where mediums get their psychic information. The solar plexus chakra controls the adrenal glands; when it is out of balance, it can affect your stomach, liver, and pancreas.

  • The heart chakra (Anahata). Located in the center of the chest and in the middle of your shoulder blades, the heart chakra relates to the Universal Mind and emotions such as love, honesty, and caring. If it becomes blocked, it can affect your heart, lungs, and breathing. It also rules your thymus gland.

  • The throat chakra (Visudda). Located at the top of the throat, the throat chakra relates to creativity, self-expression, and the creative arts, including music, art, and writing. When its center is blocked, your throat, ears, eyes, nose, and mouth may be affected. This chakra rules the thyroid gland.

  • The forehead, or third eye, chakra (Ajna). Located between your eyebrows in the center of your forehead, the forehead, or third eye, chakra relates to your pituitary gland and your psychic ability. When this center is blocked, it can affect your head, eyes, and brain.

  • The crown chakra (Sahasrara). Located at the top of your head, the crown chakra will not open until all six of the other chakras are balanced. When it is open, you experience the highest connection to the Universal Mind by your mental, physical, and spiritual self. The crown chakra controls the pineal gland.

The Universal Life Force enters the body through the crown chakra at the top of the head. As it works its way down through your body, it flows through the other centers. As it spreads to the base chakra, it arouses the kundalini energy, which yogis believe sleeps in a coiled serpentine form.

It is the external Universal Life Force that this book identifies as the Universal Mind that you first connect with when you focus beyond your third eye to the top of your head. The Universal Life Force energy is what you feel when your third eye vibrates or swells. It is this external energy form that helps increase psychic ability.

  1. Home
  2. Psychic
  3. Working with Your Chakras
  4. The Seven Chakra Centers
Visit other sites: