Astrology: Reading the Stars

Palmistry and astrology have much in common, as they are both organized systems by which people can come to a better understanding of their strengths and weaknesses, surroundings and influences, the past and the future. A person's palm is very similar to a birth chart, as both are indications of his character, intelligence, emotional life, abilities, environment, relationships, and future possibilities.

The two systems also share a great deal of the same terminology, so the palmist already has a good head start when exploring astrology. For instance, both systems use the names of the sun, moon, and planets, which palmistry applies to the fingers and mounts of the hands.

Planetary Fingers

Each of the four fingers — named after sun (Apollo) and the planets Mercury, Jupiter, and Saturn — are subdivided into three phalanges. Four fingers multiplied by three phalanges give you twelve — one phalange for each of the twelve signs of the zodiac. How these are assigned is very interesting, as it does not conform to either the course of the year or the layout of the hand. Instead, the phalanges serve to describe and buoy the strengths of each individual finger:

  • The Jupiter finger: The area of justice. The three phalanges, starting from the finger tip and going down to the base, are Aries the Ram, which represents leadership and spiritual power; Taurus the Bull, which represents ambition and perseverance; and Gemini the Twins, which represents financial acuity and influence. All of these signs are true representatives of the kingly and dominating Jupiter finger.

  • The Apollo finger: The sun finger's phalanges include Cancer the Crab (the top phalange), which is ruled by the moon and represents creativity and originality; Leo the Lion, which indicates expressiveness and talent and augments Cancer; and Virgo, the analytical sign that shows the critical abilities needed in art. Together, these three signs signify Apollo's artistic and aesthetic sense wonderfully.

  • The Mercury finger: This finger's three phalanges are, beginning with the top one, Libra the Scales, a sign of balance, diplomacy, openness, and communication; Scorpio the Scorpion, which describes personal communication and truthfulness; and Sagittarius the Archer, which stands for honesty, forthrightness, feeling, and spirit. All three typify the communicative Mercury.

  • The Saturn finger: This finger, which ends the zodiac year, includes Capricorn the Goat, a sign of morality and orthodoxy; Aquarius the Water Bearer, a phalange that represents selflessness and the quest for knowledge; and Pisces the Fish, which stands for conformity and decorum. All of these support the saturnine elements of structure, discipline, and study.

The palm and finger mounts also have astrological names, so the astrological palmist can gain even more information from them. The mount of Venus, for example, represents the second planet as well as the goddess of beauty and love, and like the mount she shows the qualities of physical attractiveness, liveliness, and emotion.

You can look at each one of the phalanges and its markings in order to get some information about a particular aspect of your life or personality. Here is what you may find:

  • Vertical lines: Flowing energy, a positive aspect

  • Horizontal lines: Blocked energy — a retrograde, or backward-moving, aspect

  • Grilles: Confused and diffused energy, a neutral or negative aspect

  • Crosses: Diverted energy, a negative aspect

  • Stars: An abundance of energy, which may be a positive or a negative aspect

  • Clear areas: Potential energy, a positive aspect

The moon is also seen in the hand in the mount of Luna, an area that controls the subconscious, spirituality and intuition, with all the moon's mystery and intangible changeability.

Other Planetary Influences

The other planets can be found in the hand as well. The positive and negative Mars mounts, on either side of the hand, show the aggressive and active elements of the warrior god and fifth planet, along with his courage, strength, and endurance. The mount of Neptune, the god of the ocean and eighth planet, lies between the Venus and Luna mounts at the point where the conscious and unconscious meet, and this god of the deep shows the harmony that essentially lies between them. The mount of Uranus (on the thumb side of the wrist) tells of the attributes of the god of the sky, who is the father of Saturn and the grandfather of Jupiter, as well as the namesake of the seventh planet. Finally, the ninth planet, and the god of the underworld, Pluto, is seen in the hand on the mount that lies near the wrist on the side away from the thumb. They live on the cusp between the mind and the biological body.

There are currently more than 10,000 palm readers in the United States alone — and probably several more thousand in countries as diverse as India, China, and Greece.

  1. Home
  2. Palmistry
  3. Palmistry and Other Spiritual Arts
  4. Astrology: Reading the Stars
Visit other sites: