Foods That Contain These Nutrients
If you have celiac disease, it is important to closely monitor your diet to ensure that you consume no wheat, rye, or barley. There are plenty of foods, even grains, that are gluten-free and can easily be substituted.
However, gluten hides in many packaged and processed products. Wheat is used in a surprisingly large number of items, and many products are made in the same factories as gluten-containing foods. Therefore, it is important to check labels carefully to ensure that there is no gluten in the products you are buying.
Meats, fish, fruits, and vegetables can all be consumed safely when purchased fresh and cooked at home. Most individuals can safely consume gluten-free or low-gluten grains, which include amaranth, buckwheat, tapioca or cassava, corn, flax, millet, rice, quinoa, and teff. Nuts and seeds are also gluten free.
Surprising foods that contain gluten include soy sauce, brown rice syrup, seasoned tortilla chips, packaged rice mixes, meal kits, canned soup, bouillon cubes, chips, and frozen vegetables in sauces. Versions of these foods can be made gluten-free, and will state this on the label. Stick to eating fresh, naturally gluten-free foods as often as possible.
Tips for Avoiding These Foods
Aim to consume fewer processed foods, which will reduce the chances that your meals contain hidden gluten. Buy fresh foods and cook them yourself as often as possible. This may seem overwhelming at first, but tools such as a slow cooker and practices such as cooking large quantities and freezing them can make daily cooking an achievable goal.
If you are diagnosed with celiac disease, you will likely need to change your baking techniques, since wheat flours are the most commonly used in cakes, muffins, and cookies. Fortunately, many companies are developing gluten-free flour blends for baking, or you can create your own using the flours of such foods as amaranth, quinoa, potato, cassava, and brown rice.
Can I eat oatmeal if I have celiac disease?
Oats were once considered a food to avoid, but a small amount can be tolerated by some people. If you enjoy oats, gradually add a small amount to your diet to learn if you can tolerate the grain. Some oats are processed in factories with other grains, leading to gluten contamination, so check the labels and experiment with different sources.