What Does My Child Need to Avoid on the GFCF Diet?

First, what are gluten and casein? It is easier to identify foods and products that contain these proteins if you understand what they are!

Gluten is a special protein that is found in wheat, rye, barley, bulgur, Kamut, spelt, and foods made from those grains. Gluten gives breads and grains their texture. It is often used as a filler in meat products like hot dogs and lunchmeat. Gluten is found in food starches, semolina, couscous, malt, some vinegars, soy sauce, flavorings, artificial colors, and hydrolyzed vegetable proteins.

Casein is a protein found in milk and foods containing milk. These include cheese, butter, yogurt, ice cream, whey, and many brands of margarine. It also may be added to non-milk products such as soy cheese and hot dogs in the form of caseinate.

Are all “soy” or “dairy-free” products gluten- and casein-free?

No! This cookbook uses a lot of soy products (i.e., soy cheese and soy milk) but it can be hard to find truly casein-free soy dairy products. Many of them contain caseinate, so it is imperative to read labels carefully! Often, these items can be special ordered online, or your local grocery store may be able to order a supply to keep in stock. There are online resources that make it easier to locate GFCF foods.

The List

Below you will find a list of ingredients to avoid, as they indicate the presence of gluten and casein. It is important to look for words such as these on all food ingredient labels. Check for words like these every time you shop. Manufacturers change their ingredients often, so you do need to check the label each time you grocery shop.

UNSAFE INGREDIENTS ON THE GFCF DIET

Abyssinian Hard (wheat triticum duran)

Acidophilus milk

Artificial butter flavor

Avena or wild oat

Baking powder and soda (read labels, may be okay)

Barley

Barley malt or barley extract

Barley Hordeum vulgare

Beer, ale, or any fermented beverages

Blue cheese (contains gluten and casein)

Bran

Bread flour

Broth (may contain wheat)

Bouillon (There are some GF bouillons — read labels!)

Bulgur

Butter

Butter fat, butter flavoring, butter oil

Buttermilk

Calcium caseinate

Caramel colorings

Casein

Caseinates

Cheese (hard and soft)

Cereal, cereal extract, or cereal binding

Chilton

Chorizo (check label)

Coffee Creamers and coffee creamer substitutes

Cottage cheese

Couscous

Cracker meal

Cream

Cream cheese

Cream yogurt

Croutons

Curds

Custard

De-lactosed whey

Dextrin

Dinkle

Durum

Einkorn wheat

Emmer

Faro

Farina

Flavorings, natural or artificial (need to check with manufacturer)

Filler

Fu (dried wheat gluten)

Flours (all purpose, barley, bleached, bread, brown, durum, enriched, gluten, graham, granary, high-protein, high-gluten, oat, wheat, whole meal, and white)

Galactose

Germ

Glutamate

Glutamic acid

Gluten

Graham flour

Gravies, prepared with gluten and casein, check labels

Gum base

Half and half

Hard wheat

Hydrolysates with casein

Hydrolyzed oat starch, hydrolyzed plant protein, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, and hydrolyzed wheat protein

Kamut

Lactalbumin and lactalbumin phosphate

Lactic acid (need to verify source)

Lactoglobulin

Lactose and lactulose

Magnesium caseinate

Malt, products including beverages, extracts, milks, flavorings, syrup, and vinegars

Matzo or matzah flour and/or meal

Milk (condensed, evaporated, dry, whole, low-fat, nonfat, skim, and goat's)

Milk protein, milk powder, milk solids

Miso

Modified food starch (check with manufacturer as might be wheat)

Mustard powder

Oats that are not gluten-free oats (It is possible to order gluten-free oats in the Untied States)

Oriental wheat

Orzo

Panko

Potassium caseinate

Pudding

Rennet casein

Rice malt, rice syrup, and brown rice syrup

Rye and rye semolina

Sauces (check labels)

Seitan

Semolina

Sodium caseinate

Sodium lactylate (check with manufacturer)

Sour cream, sour cream solids, sour milk solids

Soy sauce (may contain wheat)

Spelt

Starch, edible

Stativa

Triticale and triticum

Udon noodles

Wheat, wheat bran, and wheat germ, wheat germ oil, wheat grass, wheat starch, and whole-wheat berries

Whey (all forms)

Whey protein

Yogurt

This list of unsafe foods can be overwhelming. Take time to read it, copy it, and take it to the grocery store each time. Please remember that you do not have to memorize this list, just take a copy with you while shopping and read the labels. After some time on the diet, the list will become familiar and comfortable.

Hidden Sources of Gluten and Casein

Certain foods are easy to identify as safe or unsafe. Others might be a little trickier. These items might also contain gluten or casein and it may require a little more research to determine if the food is safe.

Please read the labels of these items carefully to eliminate those that contain gluten and casein from your family's lifestyle. It might be necessary to call the phone number on the back of the product and ask the manufacturer the sources of some of these ingredients. If they are not from a gluten or casein source then they are safe to consume.

POSSIBLE SOURCES OF GLUTEN AND CASEIN

Breadings

Over-the-counter medication

Brown rice syrup

Play dough (You can find great gluten- and casein-free recipes for this with some searching.)

Candy

Prescription medications

Coating mix

Roux

Communion wafers

Sauces

Gloss and balms

Self-basting poultry

Herbal supplements

Soup bases

Imitation bacon/seafood

Stuffing

Lipstick

Thickeners

Luncheon meats or vegetarian meat substitutes, certain types

Vitamin and mineral supplements

Marinades

  1. Home
  2. Cooking for Children with Autism
  3. Good Nutrition on a Gluten- and Casein-Free Diet
  4. What Does My Child Need to Avoid on the GFCF Diet?
Visit other About.com sites: